1115 Waiver Summary


Waiver Summary
In December 2011, Texas received federal approval of an 1115 waiver that would preserve Upper Payment Limit (UPL) funding under a new methodology, but allow for managed care expansion to additional areas of the state.

The purpose of the 1115 Healthcare Transformation waiver, supplemental payment funding, managed care savings, and negotiated funding will go into two statewide pools now worth $29 billion (all funds) over five years. Funding from the pools will be distributed to hospitals and other providers to support the following objectives: (1) an uncompensated care (UC) pool to reimburse for uncompensated care costs as reported in the annual waiver application/UC cost report; and (2) a Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment (DSRIP) pool to incentivize hospitals and other providers to transform their service delivery practices to improve quality, health status, patient experience, coordination, and cost-effectiveness.

HHHS website: Texas Health and Human Services Medicaid 1115 Waiver

Texas Regional Healthcare Partnership (RHP) Regions
In August 2012, HHSC approved 20 RHP regions. Our area is Region 5 which consist of Starr County, Hidalgo County, Willacy County and Cameron County. Hidalgo County is the anchor entity for Region 5. “An anchoring entity is the single IGT entity in an RHP serving as the primary contact to HHSC responsible for providing opportunitites for public input to the development of RHP plans and coordinating discussion and review of proposed RHP plans prior to plan submission to the State.”

Link to RHP region map.
Link to Public Hearing Notice
Link to Proposed 3-year Project Summaries
Link to Prioritization of Proposed 3-year Projects
Link to Contact information