Marriage Licenses - 317 N. Closner Blvd. Edinburg, TX 78541
Marriage Licenses Department
New choice of Marriage Certificate in Burgundy County Clerks issue all marriage licenses in the State of Texas. (In counties in which branch officers or county officers are authorized by statute, the county clerk or a duly authorized deputy county clerk may issue marriage licenses from the branch office.)
Hidalgo County Marriage License Requirements:
- There is a 72 hour waiting period immediately following the date the license is issued.
- The marriage license expires 90 days after the issuing of the marriage license.
- Both applicants need to be present
- Blood tests are not required
- Birth certificate
- Driver's License
- State ID
- Military ID
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Resident Alien Card
- Border Crossing Card
- Matricula Consular
*We will not accept expired or mutilated documents
Social security numbers are required
The following may be used for proof of social security numbers:
- Original social security card
Both applicants must be able to visit the County Clerk's office in person within 3 days of submitting your application in order to obtain your marriage license. After 3 days the application will be removed from our queue and you will need to complete your application again. Applications are also available to complete when you visit our office. Electronic submittal of your application is not required.
- Please note: The 72-hour waiting period goes into effect after your marriage license is issued by the clerk. The 72-hour waiting period is not based on the date in which your electronic application is submitted.
Affidavit of Absent Application With Instructions Application / Instructions
SB 1705: Underage Marriage License Applicants
A county clerk may not issue a marriage license if either applicant is under 18 years and has not presented a court order filed with this state that removes the disabilities of minority.
SB 1705 amends Section 2.009 of the Texas Family Code, so that a county clerk may not issue a license if either applicant is under 18 years of age and has not presented a court order granted by this state under TFC Chapter 31 removing the disabilities of minority of the applicant for general purpose; or, if the applicant is a nonresident minor, a certified copy of an order removing the disabilities of minority of the applicant for general purposes filed with this state under TFC 31.007
Effective September 1, 2017.
There is a 30 day waiting period immediately following the date the Judge signs the divorce decree. If the Judge has waived the 30 day waiting period, the court order must be presented at the time of applying for the marriage license on the 31st day after a divorce. Former spouses may marry each other at any time.
Please download, read, and fill out the appropriate forms in order to obtain a Marriage License at our office. These forms are also available in our office, should you prefer to fill out your application when visiting the County Clerk’s Office.